Giselle Marks

Regency Romance and Fantasy Author

My Latest Poems

on June 29, 2016

I have been busy finishing a number of books and preparing them for publication, more on that shortly, so apologies for there having been no recent blog posts, but that is about to change and there will be more regular articles, poems and samples from my forthcoming books included here. Today I am simply adding a few new poems.

Choices

Each day in life brings many choices

The sun is out, I want to play.

But then my conscience has its say

There’s always things I haven’t done,

Never enough time to have some fun!

 

It’s good to be alive my heart rejoices

So with memories fill every day

No guarantee when it will fade away

Disasters happen, friends will die

I’m sometimes sad, I mustn’t lie!

 

All around me are shouting, angry voices

Hating those who don’t live their way

I feel soiled if I don’t say them nay!

Why fill yourself with cruel spite?

What makes these people so uptight?

 

Each day in life brings many choices

The sun is out I’m going out to play

Piper I’ll pick the tune, I will pay

I refuse to fear what tomorrow brings

Play no blues on your guitar strings.

It’s good to be alive my heart rejoices

Lucha_Masks

Masks

I take my mask off in the morning

The one that helps me breathe

While I sleep.

I loathe it.

It stops me semi waking

They say

It helps me sleep.

I loathe it.

It needs caring for like a baby.

Washing carefully

And filling

And switching on

And off.

It rules my life.

 

I wear a mask when I smile.

An act that all is well

And I am happy

To meet them.

They wear masks too.

I wonder what

Is behind them.

Do they hide their teeth?

Which want to tear me

Apart?

I do not trust their masks,

Their pretty faces

Are ugly

Inside.

 

People wear masks

To hide their faces

From the world

Why are they ashamed?

Of what lies beneath

The painted surface

Of their masks.

I do not trust them.

They disguise the truth

Pretending

To be

Other

Than they are.

 

Children wear masks

With Vampire teeth

Witches cackle

Zombies lurk

Monsters eat candy

But their

Faces

 

 Truth telling

Flowers rot and so does grass

Everything living so must pass.

Feeding animals and the earth

Proves their dying has real worth.

Words without truth run far away

Their speakers’ souls should we weigh?

Will the devil’s law over them hold sway?

Do they taint us with their lies?

Making us lose the utmost prize.

Silence may be golden but ring the bell

Risk telling the truth to avoid fiery hell!

 

Truth telling

Flowers rot and so does grass

Everything living so must pass.

Feeding animals and the earth

Proves their dying has real worth.

Words without truth run far away

Their speakers’ souls should we weigh?

Will the devil’s law over them hold sway?

Do they taint us with their lies?

Making us lose the utmost prize.

Silence may be golden but ring the bell

Risk telling the truth to avoid fiery hell!

 

And a more traditional style – a villanelle

It is always good to make decisions

It is always good to make decisions

Right or wrong, a work is best begun.

Surgeons must make their first incisions.

 

If you truly want to achieve your visions,

Ideas are nothing until something is done.

It is always good to make decisions.

 

Procrastination makes sad divisions.

The first step eats up those miles run.

Surgeons must make their first incisions.

 

Blood must flow, we make revisions.

Any action is preferable than none.

It is always good to make decisions.

 

Life is just a series of collisions,

Don’t put those bullets in a gun.

Surgeons must make their first incisions.

Switch off all of your televisions,

Live life to the full, don’t let it rerun

It is always good to make decisions.

Surgeons must make their first incisions.

 

And a traditional Shakespearian sonnet :-

 

st Trinains

A monster does dwell in the Isle of Mann

Sharp pointed tusks and eyes bright like the fire,

Stronger than an ox, Buggane does not tire,

The idle beware for he oft has a plan.

Fear him because Buggane’s temper is short,

Deciding to punish those who offend,

If he strips your roof, it won’t ever mend,

Make certain he has no cause to find fault.

Perhaps it’s best not to make him your friend!

The Fae could then try to lead you astray,

From this real world tempting you far away,

Dancing and feasting where time does not end.

Or like the honest Ninian, the saint,

You will find you have reason for complaint!

 

5 responses to “My Latest Poems

  1. Jane says:

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the longer term and it’s time to
    be happy. I have learn this publish and if I could I wish to recommend you few attention-grabbing issues or
    suggestions. Maybe you can write subsequent articles regarding this article.
    I want to read more things about it! http://www.Yahoo.net/

  2. Faustino says:

    Making the above mentioned, seems to be your
    company’s humans learn most all-around %BT%. I`m starting my site
    inside of this topic matter. May well For sale deliberation with one of
    very own pros?

  3. Dalene says:

    Good post. I’m experiencing a few of these issues as well.. http://www.planeteers.in/groups/monster-truck-games-no-longer-a-mystery/

  4. Mira says:

    The actual article shows this %BT% complications so normally!
    In my opinion such as I`m inspired to eventually flawless my new essay during this theme.
    But yet, possibly smb can certainly help me personally with starting?)

Leave a Reply

